Monday, June 11, 2012

Our Solar System

Our solar system consists of its major star, the Sun and a set of body is not just about the eight planets now known, that because the August 24, 2006 the International Astronomical Union meet in Prague which was define planet or to be careful as such or the function of the sound "planet" Pluto was leaving because their individuality do not conform to what is intended by the planet, so going to be a planetoid and for that reason, our Solar System now includes nine planets, but eight, this termination is due to the amount of various bodies that have different sizes orbiting like planets around the Sun as asteroids, comets, meteoric bodies, interplanetary dust and gas, which make this set we call the solar system.

 Configuration of the Solar System

The configuration of the solar system, date from about 4,500 million years, and this conclusion comes from meteorite samples. In the Solar System, all planets move around in nearly circular orbits. The origin of the system itself has a habit is that there is an large quantity of certain elements in the atmospheres of giant planets and in meteorites, which is closer than in the interstellar medium than the current Sun, this gives the pattern that the planets condensed from the same material that gave birth to the Sun and at the same time as him. The more we move away from the Sun, the lower the density of the planets, but increase its size and mass. This is why divided into two groups: the terrestrial and the giant or Jovian. The land has a high density and has no rings with few or no satellites are solid surfaces and the atmosphere can be very dense. Instead the gas giants are very distant from the Sun, behind the asteroid belt located between Mars and Jupiter. These massive bodies are low density, are made up mostly of hydrogen and helium, do not have a solid surface, have a very extensive atmosphere is estimated to have at their core a rocky core. All rings are accompanied by some very subtle have been discovered in recent times. Everyone has a good number of satellites that orbit. Pluto, the planet discussed as such, is the farthest of all the Sun, its density is small and low, now with the new provision of the International Astronomical Union, is considered a dwarf planet or the new name "Plotinus" all the bodies that bear similar characteristics to those of Pluto. Orbiting after Mars, is an enormous amount of what has been called minor bodies, these bodies are called asteroids or planetoids, it is possible that once, when the solar system formed, the protoplanets were not eight, but more, which increased its size began to collide with other objects breaking, well formed the asteroid belt.

More than we observed the asteroid belt, where they condense most of them between the orbits of Earth and Mars. These are divided into three classes according to their composition, however, we see in the orbit of Jupiter two groups, known as the Trojans. But despite this training are a number who come to cross the orbit of Earth.
Other components of the Solar System icy bodies are smaller than asteroids; these bodies are the nuclei of comets at the edge of the system, called the Out Cloud. When a shooting star gravitational disturbance causes them, soar into the system, when these bodies are approaching the Sun, our star radiates heat sublimates the ice surface thereof, thus resulting in release of gases and form the dust tail of comets known to us so great. In conclusion, the edge of our solar system is not defined yet, expectations are saved because of other bodies discovered after Pluto, nor is it clear if the Cloud Out solar system belongs to or is outside it.

The planets

The global planets in the group are those with relatively small mass and size in contrast to so-called giant planets or Jovian, rotations are slower and some a satellite or a few others. They are grouped into the first classification to Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, and also afforded by this category to Pluto, despite its density is small, the classification of Pluto as a planet was discussed removing the planet category as explained up. In the group of so-called giant or Jovian planets, we find the largest masses and sizes of comparison with the terrestrial group. The giant planets have lower densities, faster rotations and greater number of satellites. This classification brings to Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.

No comments:

Post a Comment

China sets a world record 370-day for human life on the moon

The Beijing University of Aviation and Cosmonautics completed a 370-day experiment to simulate the lives of people on the moon, settin...